Thursday, 27 June 2013

Update for July

New update from Rob
Pub Night is next Tuesday – 2nd July in Running Hare 8.30 inwards
Race the Train I need to confirm camping numbers very soon after next  Tuesday. If you are camping/caravanning etc. please let me know urgently so I can confirm numbers for the camp-site
Looking for a good home Margaret has a pair of Asics Hyper XC Men's - both xc and track studs - size US 9 / Euro 42 / UK 8?? in need of a good home. Please contact her if you can help
Races     Please see below for list of dates for races. Most important please note the Club championship races
                MT = multi-terrain, F = fell, R = road, E = extreme
                Add Borders League and Cross Country (dates will be confirmed after BL AGM on Monday 1st July)
                You must complete at least one race in each of the 6 categories to qualify. Every extra race you complete earns a point.
                1st place gets 26 points, 2nd gets 24, 3rd gets 23 etc.
                Add 1 point for Over 40, 2 for Over 50 and 3 for Over 60
July 2013
Deestriders Off Road 2
Club Champs MT
Moel Siabod
Capel Curig

Fairy Freckled Cow
Llyn Alwen
Club Champs MT
Rowen, Conwy

The Druid
Club Champs F
Green Green Grass

Snowdon International;

Push up the Pincyn
Club Champs MT
August 2013
Horseshoe Pass

Deestriders Off Road 3
Club Champs MT
Gladstone 9

Race the Train
Club Champs E
Club Champs E
Capenhurst 5Km
Ellesmere Port
Club Champs R
Moel Famau Mountain Race
Club Champs F
September 2013
Deestriders Off Road 4
Club Champs MT
Vyrnwy Half
Lake Vyrnwy

Sutton 10Km
Guilden Sutton
Guilden Sutton R
King John’s Castle
Club Champs MT
Sandstone Trail

October 2013
Flintshire 10KM
Club Champs R

Robert Mackey
Chairman, Buckley Runners

Hill running update

Apologies for the lack of updates recently - been a bit busy. Here's a round-up of recent fell races. Big fields of 100+ are now the norm for the local races, and competition is a lot more fierce (especially among the vets) than it used to be, so there are some good performances below.

Moel y Gamelin (Welsh Champs)
5. Jez
10. Simon R
16. Simon E
51. Huw
68. Paul D
71. Dawn
81. John

Hotfoot up Famau (hardest 5k in the world - probably)
3. Jez
7. Simon E
13. Simon R
31. Steve B
34. Huw
45. John

Up the Beast (John M's own creation)
3. Jez
8. Simon R
13. Simon E
42. John
82. Rob M

Wednesday, 12 June 2013

Deeside Off Road race 1

Nice to see so many new faces/names at the first race in the summer Grand Prix - huge turnout from the club.

4. Jez
5. Simon R
9. Jeff
12. Eddie
18. Shaun
21. Steve B
29. Michael Austin
35. Margaret
36. Mike
47. John M
48. Gavin Reeves
62. Rob M

Wednesday, 5 June 2013

Buckley Runners Annual Awards

I am delighted to report a thoroughly enjoyable evening in The Running Hare last night for the Annual Presentation of Awards, attended by about thirty of us.
Thank you all for attending and making it such a good event. Thanks must go to the staff at the Running Hare who make us very welcome every time.
It was particular pleasing to see Paul Stinton there, released from his fatherly duties for a while. Congratulations to Paul and Sarah (and of course to Erin Lily)
A special mention to the recipient of the Annual Members Award. By an overwhelming majority the members nominated Rup Lindley for all the work he has done for the Borders League and the club in helping at all the races. A very well deserved acknowledgement of a big contribution to the club. Thank you  Rup.
Although Rup’s nominations made him a clear winner, there was a wide spread of other nominations including Dave Boothroyd for completing the Lakeland Ultra Run, Jane for support for club members especially the newer ones, Jane and Rup for their combined efforts, Margaret Ludden for her outstanding performances (N. Wales Champion at 10 miles!) and for John Morris for his running (targeting 70 races this year before his 70th birthday) and his work on the championship. 
Also a big thank you to John Morris for work on the club championship, and his masterpiece of timing. John had run a fell race at Penmaenmawr in the evening and arrived back with the results of the championship at the exact moment they were required. John distributed the races for next year’s championship. I will mail them and post them on the blog as soon as I can.
And congratulations to all the trophy winners and everyone who has contributed to the club during the year.
I have posted all the results below. If you look closely there are some slight changes to the men’s BL results. I was made aware of the a problem last night and have discovered two errors in the calculations for third race. As a result Chris Higgins moves up to 9th  My apologies for the error and misinformation.
Thanks everybody
See you at the races soon! And don’t for get to find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter (@buckleyrunners)
Posted by Rob
Robert Mackey
Chairman, Buckley Runners

Buckley Runners –2013 final results
Border League 2012-13 Men (10 to count)    
Based on 30 points for 1st finisher
1                   Jeff Gifford,                               187 Points
2                   Simon Roberts,                            178 Points
3                   Paul Stinton,                                 177 Points
4                   Eddie Davies,                                153 Points
5                   Les Coathup,                                 133 Points
6                   David Boothroyd,                         132 Points
7                   John Morris,                                126 Points (7 races)
8                   Shaun Hooson,                             126 Points (5 races)
9                   Chris Higgins                                123 Points
10                 Matt Rose                                     115 Points

Border League 2012-13 Ladies (4 to count)
Based on 15 points for 1st finisher
1                  Margaret Ludden,                    105 Points
2                  Dawn Urquhart,                       84 Points
3                  Jane Lindley,                            82 Points
4                  Fenella Higgins,                        78 Points

Cross Country 2012 – 2013 Men (6 to count)
Based on 20 points for 1st finisher
1              Eric Campbell          92 Points
2              Eddie Davies           86 Points
3              Jez Brown               77 Points
4              Chris Higgins           68 Points
5              Jeff Gifford          66 Points
6              Les Coathup            62 Points

Cross Country 2012 – 2013 Ladies (4 to count)
Based on 15 points for 1st finisher
1              Dawn Urquhart                75 Points
2              Sue Ridings                       61 Points
3              Margaret Ludden            54 Points (4 races, beat Fennella twice)
4              Fennella Higgins              54 Points (4 races, beat Margaret once)

Buckley Runners Club Championship 2012-13
1 overall         Margaret Ludden            176 Points            (1st Lady)
2 overall         John Morris,                    164 Points            (1st Male)
3 overall         Rob Mackey                     155 Points (2nd Male)
4th overall      Jez Brown                        148 Points (3rd Male)
6th overall      Fenella Higgins                132 Points (2nd Lady)
8th overall      Dawn Urquhart                117 Points            (3rd lady)

Buckley Runners Members Award

Was awarded to Rup Lindley for his contribution both to the club and the Borders League over many years. He was nominated by a large proportion of the club members.