Saturday, 7 June 2014

Presentation Night and awards

The presentation night at The Running Hare was very successful and enjoyable.
It was great to see around 25 people there, arriving from 8.00 onwards after training and racing. A chance to chat and eat was followed by the presentation of awards. Rob thanked everyone who had contributed to another very successful year. He reminded everyone that the club awards are there to encourage and reward competing on behalf of the club. He added thanks to the staff at The Running Hare for organising the area for us and to Peter at Dragon Trophies for his help with the awards. The full results are below. It is great to see many new names on the list.
The Members Award was awarded to Mike Austin for his continuous improved performance throughout the year and contribution to the club. It was a difficult decisions with so many other strong nominations, but Mike is a very worthy winner – congratulations, Mike.
Other strong contenders included: -
Les for his unstinting work as coach and support for runners
John for his amazing 70 races in his 70th year (actually it was 73)
Jane for her support for new club members
Jez for all-round performance especially on the hills (just look at the results!)
An enjoyable evening all round. Thanks everybody
Men’s Cross Country
1st         Jez Brown
2nd        Eddie Davies
3rd        Mike Austin
4th         John Morris
5th         Les Coathup
6th         Rob Mackey
Ladies Cross Country
1st         Dawn Urquhart
2nd        Alice Williams
3rd        Jane Lindley
4th         Amanda Garner
Men’s Borders League
1st         Jez Brown
2nd        David Gilbert
3rd        Eddie Davies
4th         Mike Jones
5th         Paul Stinton
6th         Mike Austin
7th         Matthew Rose
8th         Simon Roberts
9th         Les Coathup
10th =    Steve Bellis
10th =    John Morris
10th =    Ian Bayliss
Ladies Borders League
1st         Lisa Gittins
2nd        Jane Lindley
3rd        Dawn Urquhart
4th         Hayley Evans
Club Championship
Winner                   Jez Brown
Second                 Simon Roberts
Third                      John Morris
1st Lady  Dawn Urquhart
Buckley Runners Members Award        Mike Austin

Sent by Rob Mackey (Chairman)
Buckley Runners
Road, Multi-terrain, Cross Country, Fell Running
Meeting at Buckley Sport Centre in North Wales
Meet 7.00 for 7.15 start on Tuesdays and Thursdays
You can follow us on Twitter @buckleyrunners or find us on Facebook

No comments:

Post a comment